Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Amusing Frustration .. .. .. .. .

Status
Not open for further replies.
I have been a boat mechanic for way too long. If you drop a tool in a boat, it falls into a parallel universe. There is only a 30% chance you will find it. You are more likely to find other tools while fishing with a magnet in the bilge water. I call that the boat mechanic’s tool exchange program. Some times the bilge water more resembles primordial soup.

In freighters, the bilges give incredible surprises.

The most amazing experience I recall, started when passing the gate to berth at Seaforth Terminal in L'pool. It was there where the Customs search gang boarded and started to comb the vessel up and down in any imaginable way; even the fridge in the Officers mess!!

The engine's bilges, no matter how clean they were, produced even funny results, exhuming absurd things surely hidden there (with smuggling purposes) by previous crews from many years before. Even now, I cannot explain why, all what they collected, ended in the Radio Officer's cabin which was up there at the bridge level. The collection of things was surreal, with wine bottles and cigarettes of brands unknown even to us. The most outstanding thing, left in a prominent central place, so it was staring at you when you entered the room, was an inflatable doll.

I could tell about Libya and Iran as well but I believe that nowadays that folklore is over in most parts of the world.