Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Admittances

Status
Not open for further replies.

mike_bhoy

Hi all, newbie here, been searching the net for help with my assignment, hoping you can help me:)

basically i'm stuck. i have an rlc series circuit. the supply voltage is 10v, and the current at 1khz is 5ma 53o leading, then at 2 khz its 7 ma 33.5o leading.

basically i have worked out that z = 1203 + j1597, using z = v/i, but i can't figure out how to work out the values of Xl and Xc with just the info provided, how do you solve 2 unkowns?

this is supposed to work using admittances.

Any help welcome, my head is busting.

thanks
Mike.

It looks to me like you have two equations and 3 unknowns. You have equations for I1 and I2, but you have R, L, and C as unknowns. Were you given a value for one of these?

Ron H said:
It looks to me like you have two equations and 3 unknowns. You have equations for I1 and I2, but you have R, L, and C as unknowns. Were you given a value for one of these?
No, he has only 2 unknowns since the resistor must be 1203 :eek:hm: in both cases (assuming that his maths is correct - I have not checked it).

So now you can find L and C from Z at the 2 frequencies by solving the 2 simultaneous equations.

In fact, you can use either the modulus or the angle.

ljcox said:
No, he has only 2 unknowns since the resistor must be 1203 :eek:hm: in both cases (assuming that his maths is correct - I have not checked it).