Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

ADC in assembly

Status
Not open for further replies.

trvo

Hi All,

I'm pretty new to PIC's and have a fairly basic understanding of how to program in them. At the moment I'm playing around with a 12F675. I would like to find some information that would teach me how to use the built in ADC in assembly but all I can find is C and PBasic based tutorials. I want to read the input value of a Pot through AN0. At the moment I understand that I will get a digital value between 0 and 1023 on the 10bit ADC. But how to get at it is the issue.

Can anyone point me in the right direction of some up-to-date learning resources for assembly or explain what I need to do and why in order to get an analogue signal into digital format? I am looking to learn, not copy and am self taught.

Many Thanks - Trev

Thanks Nigel, will take a look at all the tutorials on your site :) - I think this is the one I'm after at the moment though:

Many Thanks - Trev

Hey trvo I just finished learning the basics of ADC using a 12f675. Here is what I learned. This program will fade an led based on the position of the pot. the big pot is to fade the light, the little pot is to trim the voltage so you have from off to full. without it you will go from full to off and the it will get bright again going in a circle. The big pot is 10k the little one is 5k. Tell me if you have any problems with it.

Code:
;fade

list P=12f675
#include <p12f675.inc>