Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

AC/DC Adapter as Benchtop power supply.

Status
Not open for further replies.

gatoruss

I am an absolute noobe. I would like to make a power supply for my breadboard. A nearby store sells used AC/DC adapters for very little (some as cheap as a $1) - wide assortment of voltage and current output. I was thinking that could use the adapter as a power supply for my breadboard. I researched this on the net and have found some projects that do just this...with voltage regulator, etc...(see for example **broken link removed**).

My question is, is this safe to do. The idea of playing around with AC concerns me...I am hoping that it is relatively safe as I will be connecting the DC side to breadboard.

Thought, suggestions, advice?

Thanks.

Pretty safe. The AC/DC adapter is a transformer, usually with a built in rectifier and cap, which provides isolation from the AC line voltage.

Check their output voltage before use. They are good if your circuit has its own voltage regulator, e.g. 7805 or 78L05 etc...

You will be surprised that one marked 9V output could give out more than 12V.

Thanks.