Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Absolute newb, so just a few questions

Status
Not open for further replies.

IWT

I know there is a beginners FAQ, and I will read that, but I just have a few questions to get me started.

1) Is there any difference between American and British electronics. Reason I ask is I noticed several American/Canadian posters, but didn't see any British ones, and I'm from Scotland. Just before I make this forum my home.

2)I bought a basic electronic tool kit, comprising of a soldering iron, multimeter, screwdrivers, wire strippers etc. The whole kit only cost £9.99, and so I know I'm not getting the absolute best quality tools, but I don't want to spend loads of cash, just incase I don't get into electronics/robotics.
Now, the soldering iron comes without a stand, so I know I need to buy one. However, the iron (when at it's hottest I suppose) emmits smoke from the whole rod, even without touching the metal with anything. Is this normal, or do I have a faulty product? The smoke is rather smelly. ( I can post a pic of the iron if that helps)