Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

A question about power amplifiers (and/or SMPS design)

Status
Not open for further replies.

MysticalDork

Hi! I'm an electronics hobbyist, and I'm in the process of designing and building a tabletop solid state tesla coil, to demonstrate wireless transmission of power and electric fields, etc.

Since if all goes right this coil should be capable of running full-CW mode, I figured it would be a fun idea to add audio modulation. There are two methods I plan to use:
A) Simple low voltage PWM interruption: This will allow simple integration and crappy audio quality for a minimum of effort.

B) I also plan to integrate (probably at a later date, I need to see plasma!) a method to modulate the main input rail's voltage (~170V, 2-5A rectified mains) to vary the input power, and hence the breakout size and allow reasonably high-quality modulation. The problem lies with this second method, as I have no idea how to modulate a 170V supply rail without a giant audio transformer and a separate large power amp feeding it.

I figure I only need about 15-25% modulation depth, so I've been toying with the idea of trying to use something like a TPA3123D2 class-D amplifier module, somehow fed into or modulating the rail. I'm trying to keep the electronics payload of this project as small and compact as I can.

This is the circuit I'm currently working off of, with some minor tweaks. (Yes I'm aware the 3904 and '06 are swapped.)