Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

A little help needed with arrays in PicBasicPro please

Status
Not open for further replies.

bigal_scorpio

Hi to all,

I am still learning Pic Basic Pro and have come up with a problem in understanding Arrays!

From the manual I understand how to define the Arrays name and size eg. sharks VAR BYTE [10] gives an Array with 10 elements and I think I understand how to access the elements. BUT what I am baffled about is the method of loading the data I want into the array?

I mean to say, continuing the manuals shark theme, if I wanted the array to consist of tiger, great white, lemon, nurse etc, what is the actual syntax I would use to make the array and where would this line/s be placed? IE inside the main, before main or after main?

Any example would be most welcome.

Thanks for looking...........Al

I'm not sure that PBP allows multidimensional arrays! An array of strings has usually two dimensions ie. names[10][string length] . To do this you will need to make n' arrays of fixed length ( longest text ) and initialize them individually (laborious) The easiest way for you to do this is with the lookup command

Code:
        For B = 0 to 5			        ' Count from 0 to 5
		LOOKUP B,[“Hello!”],B1	' Get character number B from string to variable B1
		array[B] = B1	                ' Send character in B1 to array
	Next B				        ' Do next character

This is the example from the manual

Cheers Ian

Last edited:
Hi Ian,