Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

7-segment counter with IC 4029 and 4511

Status
Not open for further replies.

Daryl Musashi

Hello everyone,

I am fairly new to electronics and going to make my first larger project at the moment. One main element of it is a 2 x 7-segment-display counting down from a certain value to 0. To realize that I used a 555-timer in astable mode to generate the pulses for the first of my two 4029 ICs. Furthermore I use 2 x 4511 ICs to convert the input for the 7 segment displays.
At the moment I have a running circuit, which counts down from 99 to 0. Now I want to modify the starting value, which can be achieved by putting "high" or "low" to the 4 jam inputs (4, 12, 13, 3) of IC 4029. For example if I want to start with "5" the code for the jam inputs is 0101 (for the jam inputs 4, 12, 13, 3) - I hope I am right?

But in detail I cant get the circuit work. I can try every possible combination of "high" and "low" to the jam inputs 4, 12, 13 and 3 - it always starts counting from 9 to 0 !

I thought for a time that the "Preset Enable" pin needs a permanent "high" if I want to define a certain starting value, but the counter does not count any more in this case. But this is no surprise referring to the data sheet of the IC 4029 I realized, as this behaviour is cleary described in the general description section.