Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

4x4 MATRIX keypad with PIC16F877A issues....

Status
Not open for further replies.

si2030

Hi All,

Like a lot of others I am new to this. I wanted to develop a function generator so I designed a development board with a number of external components including a 4x4 matrix keypad. It all electrically is connected correctly and in the program below the flashing LEDs work but I cannot get the 4x4 board to even light up a LED..

I have used the code from here as a start
https://www.qsl.net/pa3ckr/signalgenerator/keyb441.txt

I have attached both the schematic and the code I have been working on.

In the end I have set both RB4-7 to INPUTS and RD4-7 to INPUTS. [should they be both inputs???] I am not sure this is OK but it seems to work in MPLAB when using stimulus.

There are weak pullups on PORTB. I am not sure how this ties into the process but there is 5 volts on the each of the pins on the matrix board (EDIT 5 volts on RB4-7 and 1.48volts on pins RD4-7)...

I have no way of know if the 4X4 board is connected properly.

Anyway any help here would be greatly appreciated...

Simon schematic..jpgView attachment keypad..txt

Last edited:
RB4-7 should be input but RD4-7 should be output and initially set high. You then set 1 of the port pins low and read RB4-7 to read one column. You repeat this for each of the row pins to read the complete keypad. I don't have time now to look at the code but will look tomorrow if you are still stuck.

Mike.