Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

12V DC to 12/24V AC

Status
Not open for further replies.

ars3

Hello,
Does anyone know how I can convert 12V DC to 12 or 24V AC?
I'm a novice and have been looking for an alternator to buy but haven't found any.

I'm trying to do the following:

I have a house that's completely off-grid. I have 10 12V heavy duty forklift batteries. I have a 12/24V - 240V 8 KVA transfomer.

I need to feed the transformer 12 or 24V AC from the battery bank.

I hoping to eventually power the whole house. I have a need to produce enough electricity to power a 220V 30amp central AC system.
This is not my permanent residence and will be used only on weekends etc..

I am recharging the batteries with a 90 watt solar panel.

I would really appreciate any help.

Thanks,
Andrew

i think what you are looking for is an Inverter system which convert 12V-24V DC to AC..
try googling Inverter system

They do make commercial/industrial inverters that will handle the load and will provide reliable service. As you might expect, they won't be inexpensive. As expensive as they might be that still might be economical relative to other options.

Have you done the math to see how long you can actually run your power system? I can imagine fork truck batteries that are no larger than auto batteries - but have seen plenty that are as large as an auto (almost!!).