Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

X minutes have passed by sir. (while Timer 1 is running)

Status
Not open for further replies.

qtommer

hi everyone,
I am new with the Timer modules on the PIC and I have just implemented using 876A with a 4MHz crystal a code which counts up to 60 seconds and then lights and LED on PORTB,0.

Using Timer1, TMR1L and TMR1H combines to overflow when reaching 0xFFFF. Therefore, to get up to a count of 1 second, (using a prescaler of 1:8) I'm adding an outer loop counter (which after calculations) is set as d'114'.

In short, Timer 1 overflows 114 times to equal to 1 minute (60secs)

The code I've done works and is as follows:

Code:
		org		0x00

BANK1
		movlw	0x00
		movwf	PORTA
		movlw	b'10000000'
		movwf	TRISB
		bsf		PIE1,0
		BANK0

clrf	PORTB

movlw	d'114'
		movwf	timer_count

settime	movlw	b'00110000'
		movwf	T1CON
;		movlw	0xFF		apparently I don't have to insert these 4 lines
;		movwf	TMR1L        of code. Without it, the Timer automatically 
;		movlw	0xFF         counts up to 0xFFFF. If I do insert this 4 lines,
;		movwf	TMR1H       the Timer does not work as intended and the LED
                                                ;lights up upon power on. Any one know why?

bsf		T1CON,0

wait	btfss	PIR1,0
		goto	wait

bcf		T1CON,0
		bcf		PIR1,0
		decfsz	timer_count,f
		goto	settime

bsf		PORTB,0
		goto	$+0

end