Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

where should i start from

Status
Not open for further replies.

samcheetah

im new to microprocessors and microcontrollers. i am going to have a course on microprocessors in my next semester and probably im going to study the 8051 (it depends on the instructor). but before that i want to start studying myself. where should i start from?

should i start from the 8051 or should it be a PIC

and i want an idea for a project involving the use of a microprocessor (it should be kool :lol: )

samcheetah said:

I think the best thing to do is do a lot of research on the net about both processers and pick the one you like most for yourself...

The one you begin with is likely the one you stick with so make the choise count.

If your class is going to be on 8051s you might as well learn them. The main advantage is that almost every company that makes microcontrollers makes an 8051 : Philips, maxim, Atmel, Intel, ST, Analog devices, Silicon Labs, Cypress etc. This gives you a huge number of choices from the standard 40 pin DIP 12 clock per instruction to the high tech 100MHz 1 clock per instruction type.