Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

reading a schematic

Status
Not open for further replies.

mike_ss

Hello, I am fairly new to this and have a couple of questions (that may be considered dumb to more advanced members) but If I don't ask I will never know. I am having a problem reading schematics. I can read the very simple ones but when capacators and such are in, I have problems. First of all, when there is a schematic is everything positive voltage except where a ground is marked? I posted this picture with a couple questions on how the circuit works. Can you please help me figure out how to read these. For example, look at R4. Positive voltage flows into the top, and then it goes directly to '-V'... how is this not a short circuit? I'm not asking for a four-year college description but just for some tips. Thanks, I appreciate it.

Attachments

• r76_questions.gif
    r76_questions.gif
    12.4 KB · Views: 534
Would it help you if I told you that the electrons flow from - to +?

Follow your schematic starting from your ground, and you will have a different perpective on what all electronic components do.

Remember that there is a continuous loop from - to +.

Your resistor is not a short, as it restricts, therefore limits the flow of the electrons.
In series the current stays the same but the voltage drops.

You have to start visualizing this flow of electrons as water thru a pipe.

You'll get the hang of it.