Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Need help with certain part for a robot.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Aidis

Hello everyone , i have been working some time on a project to make a robot using a mini-itx motherboard and an RC car. The problem i have encountered is how to control the car motor using a port from the itx (USB/Serial/LPT?) I am a electronics newbie but willing to learn given the proper documentation , i just need a push in the right direction , i was thinking either using the USB power output to control the car or a battery and then use a circuit to open/close the power flow depending on the output of the serial or lpt port ... Any ideas?

Maybe a circuit that would turn on , turn off and invert the flow of power of the battery to the motor using the COM port?

Attachments

• idea.jpg
    idea.jpg
    11 KB · Views: 716
I would recomend using the parallel port as a wealth of information can be found on the web. Circuits abound and the software is easy enough.

Just one question springs to mind at the momemt though..
how big a battery do you need to power that motherboard?

Aha. What kind of circuit board would i search for , for the kind of thing i need? Well i have seen other Mini-ITX robots , and since laptops run only at 16 - 24 VDC .. I dont think it needs to be THAT big ( ? ). LPT sounds about right.

Just found out, EPIA Mini-ITX motherboards have a 12 DC input converter. So i guess battery size wont be such a problem ...