Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

60 minute mechanical twist timer alternatives

Status
Not open for further replies.

HVAC Tech

I am new here and would like to introduce myself. My name is Brandon and I am an HVAC tech. I recently ran into a problem that maybe somebody here could help me out with. I need to make or find a device that will work like a 60 minute twist timer. It needs to be digital and with a push of a button a 1 hour timer would be activated. Upon the completion of the 1 hour a set of contacts need to open. The load is gonna be a set of dry contacts on a digital thermostat that will allow it to enter into occupied mode and after the hour switch it back into unoccupied mode. Any help or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Your looking for a "delay on make timer". HVAC is typically 24 VAC, so I assume that's your power source. Take a look here: https://www.google.com/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=web&cd=2&ved=0CFAQFjAB&url=https://www.ssac.com/catalog/TDM01A01.pdf&ei=hIiXVJ2fOZPrggSa_oPAAw&usg=AFQjCNEQ_Q4LW1lv1dcnKmZDn-wkKkxs1g&sig2=Ns08QSkY57FOuiJ4FnwrXA&bvm=bv.82001339,d.eXY&cad=rja

Although, I got the impression that you might want a display with a visible count down timer because that's what the little wind-up thing would do. Just guessing though. Totally familiar with them. The building engineers tried to use setback and occupied timers with a buiding with 36 air to water heat pumps and failed miserably.

There is lots of meaning to "digital".