Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Electrical static shocks

Status
Not open for further replies.

gsalmon4

Hi there

Please excuse as I am a complete novice when it comes to electrics.

What causes static shocks? The reason I ask is that we have diagnostics tools that configure cars and sometimes when I power one up via a power adapter (not plugged into a car at this point), sometimes I get an electrical shock when I first touch it.

If I was to wear a heal static strap or a wrist earth strap grounded to the workbench would this shock not happen?

Can some one please explain grounding\earthing. Does evereythin electrical have to be grounded? Do we have to be grounded to stop shocks etc etc..?

Many thanks to all that respond

When two different materials move against each other (rubbing or simply separating) one material is more apt to hold onto electrons and the other is more apt to lose them. This causes each material to build up a charge of opposite polarity.

If one of these materials touches something else (either a different material or something of the same material), if it has a different amount of charge, the charge will try and equalize by producing a spark.