Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

easy PIC programmer

Status
Not open for further replies.

misha

Hi
I am new in PIC world, with a lot of programming experience but poor knowledge in electronics.
I found this programmer, which seems very easy to build:

**broken link removed**

I like to know if it works ok and any information about it.
I intend to use the PIC 16F628.

What is the meaning of:
"... read "OSCCAL(internal OSCillator CALibration) word" and "BG(BandGap calibration) bits" in a device first..."
Thnx

misha said:
Hi
I am new in PIC world, with a lot of programming experience but poor knowledge in electronics.
I found this programmer, which seems very easy to build:

**broken link removed**

What is the meaning of:
"... read "OSCCAL(internal OSCillator CALibration) word" and "BG(BandGap calibration) bits" in a device first..."
Thnx
can i recommend building a parallel programmer.. only because i have read of people having a lot of trouble with serial programmers..
nigel has a schematic on his site for a nice parallel programmer..

misha said:

What is the meaning of:
Thnx

As williB has alreadymentioned, I would recommend a parallel port programmer - the P16PRO40 on my site is available very cheaply as a kit from many places.

The 16F628 is a good choice to start with, it's the main processor used in my tutorials, you might find them useful.