Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Control Ckt for 1RPM movement using M42SP-7P stepper motor

Status
Not open for further replies.

cutycaty

Hi all! I'm a newbee elex engg student & wana build a wooden camera platform[Barn door mount as it is called by astro geeks] which tracks the skies.Its plane is carefully tilted towards pole so only 1 axis needs to b rotated.Mechanical arrangement is such that 1/4"[20 tpi] threaded rod drives the plates apart @ rate of 1 RPM to chase the motion of earth.Same thing can also b readily applied in SunSeeker system but it does so only 4 couple of hours.

I've got a salvaged stepper motor from a printer paper feed.Its M42SP-7P manuf.by Mitushi & its written QH4-4389 & 21ohm.There is 5:1 gear reduction with 12 teeth gear permanently attached to the motor shaft.Motor has 5 wires.So i believe its a unipolar motor.

Now how do i proceed to make the control ckt to operate w/o microcontroller if possible? & i've read that microstepping will reduce jerks which w'd otherwise be visible in long xposure[many minutes] photos to be taken with the setup.Which ICs should i use to have stable/accurate speed?

Do i need temp.compensation coz the ckt may operate in night hours when due/cold conditions?:confused: