Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Common Electronic Part Categories

Status
Not open for further replies.

bacterozoid

I'm hoping to get a little assistance compiling a nice list of common (things a typical/advanced hobbyist may use) electronic part categories. I'm no expert by any means so input from everyone here will help me out a lot. Categories could be things like resistors, capacitors, audio, optics, ICs, micros, etc.

Edit: I'm not looking to learn about electronics or to know what type of parts to buy. I'm writing an application to help categorize electronic parts and I'm just trying to get a handle (from other hobbyists) on how people categorize their own part collections.

Here's what I'm looking for:

In general:

Code:
Main Category [Properties]
> Subcategory [Additional Properties, if any]
>> Sub-subcategory  [Additional Properties, if any]
> Subcategory [Additional Properties, if any]

Some examples:

Code:
Resistor [Color Code, Value]
> 1/4 Watt
> 1/2 Watt

Code:
Capacitor [Value]
> Electrolytic
> Ceramic [C0de]

Thanks for your help!

Last edited:
You want to no what you need to get started ???? it All depends on what you want to do
you could go to radio shack get a bag of resistors $12.95 a box of Capacitors $3.99
15 npn $2.49 15 pnp $2.49 and A bread board $6.99 and find some old 4 wire solid copper
phone wire free if you look around for it. Get a good volt ohm meter $50.00 home depot
and check out this site Learning Electronics : Free Electric Circuits Textbooks