Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Calculating Heat

Status
Not open for further replies.

jonwingfield

I'm new to the board and circuit design (self taught). Question:

Is it possible to accurately calculate heat ranges (+/- 10-20 degrees) on a DC circuit if voltage and current are known? For example, if I want to light up a 12V DC automobile cigarette lighter but limit it's heated output to a certain temperature range, I assume I could limit output current with a pot but how would I calculate the range limit and associated components. Is there a more efficient way to accomplish this without use of a pot using a momentary switch, a few resistors and/or diodes.

Thanks.

The cigarette lighter is a coil of resistance wire.
Tap a wire from earth to anywhere on the resitance wire.

If you tap it half way, then it will conduct twice the current/wattage, but to only half of the resistance wire.

as resistance wire is efficent by it's negative x length squared, at won't be as hot per length\meter.(rember there is less air to cool it.)

you will also reduce the safe rated wattage of your cigareete lighter by a 1/2.

IT will also glow brighter.
just don't drop it between your legs! :shock: