Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Butane solder iron?

Status
Not open for further replies.

rod m1

Hi everyone you have a grate sight hear. I'm just starting out in the electronics hobby and have a few questions on solder irons and supplies. My first question I would like to ask is will a Butane iron work well for building boards and on sight repairs? There attractive to me do to portability and storage. What do you think of this model for general building and repairs of boards? What other tips and stuff should I get for it?

h**p://www.hmcelectronics.com/cgi-bin/scripts/query.cgi?query=weller+p2kc

No. Been there. Done that. I had the bigger Pro version of the one you're looking at and pretty much all the tips. Great for soldering large wires to terminals, shrinking heatwrap, and soldering other big chunky things- sucked for PCB work. >>>>SUCKED<<<<

If you want an iron but not a station,, spend your $50 on one of these:
https://www.howardelectronics.com/goot/px201.html