Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Books and general info

Status
Not open for further replies.

Timmymna

I am planning on starting an electronic engineering degree next year and was wondering if there are any books or info I could be reading up on over the year. I have done an A level in system and control which is mainly based on electronics so I have some knowledge but like to expand on this before uni.

Are there any books or info that anyone can suggest I read or would recommend I purchase? Or on the other hand, any projects I could try out at home?

You could work on specific things like learning assembly language, some vhdl language, or something of that sort, or you could work on basic things like your math skills, good solid algebra skills as well as calculus, etc. will be a big help at uni :wink:

as for the projects, I'd recommend taking an interest you already have and trying to find some project based on that.

I'm interested in cars and car audio, so my projects pretty much involve my car or car stereo.

Thanks plot, I am currently doing A level maths so that should keep me up to speed, hopefully:D I had a quick look into assembly a while ago but never tried to learn it, that can be no1 on my list :D

jrz126, I'm kind of doing that atm but I'll have to read up some more before I start on that. Also you mention cars, I am currently looking for an audio car solution. I was thinking carputer but I'm not sure on what to use as the display. Any ideas or links?