Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

74LS138 3-to-8 decoder

Status
Not open for further replies.

danny009

hi i am new to electronics and i have just decided to make a dotmatrix pong game 7x8 matrix (pog game is just two paddles and a ball that you batt around until someone misses) and someone said to use a 74LS138 3-to-8 decoder i am not sue on what these are and how the work ive looked around on the net and all i get is mostly junk can someone please help and tell me please thanks

Given the idea of the setup I think it will be very difficult to build it using logic chip alone. Let me tell you why.

The playing field is 7(Height)x8(width) and you have bat on each side. The size of bat can be 1 or more, moving vertically. This leaves the middle 5x8=40 positions where the LED can light up to denote where and how the ball is moving. Of course you would want the ball to be able to move fast or slow and sometimes bounce off at an angle to the bat or when it reaches the top and bottom field boundary. All these means a lot of calculations, and is best done using microcontroller.

Actually, this is a very nice (school) project for microcontroller programming.