Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

zero crossing detector circuit using lojic gates

Status
Not open for further replies.

ricepatties

I am new to circuit design so forgive my question if it sounds silly. I am just playing around with some ideas but I was looking at some schematics for a zero crossings detector. Can a two input 'and' lojic gate be used for this type of circuit? Have one input tied to ground. The other input would be tied to a low voltage ac power supply. Then when the ac voltage crosses zero both inputs to the and gate would be zero and would therefor provide a high output. Or am I missing something? Thanks in advance for any feedback i may receive.

Ricepatties

Zero crossing detetector

Hi Ricepatties,

the problem with logic gates, in this case it must be an 'AND'-gate is the logic level for the function. Both inputs must be high to achieve a positive output state.

In order to to that you require a power supply for the logic gates. The AC must then be adapted not to exceed the allowed input voltage (CMOS-ICs) can handle up to 15V provided they are supplied with a 15VDC power supply.

for the steady ground you require a steady high as one input to the 'AND'-gate and for the AC-input it must be inverted, causing high on the other input when AC reaches zero Volt.

Boncuk

Try this; unless you attenuate it, Vp-p of the incoming AC waveform has to be < +V of the CMOS gate.
The resistor/zener string should pass current >5x more than the gate input current.