Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Zener diode test current, Izt help

Status
Not open for further replies.

MbTaNk16

I'm a beginner at electronics and I wanted to buy a 5.1V zener diode with a Pd of 500mW. I've noticed that the test current (Izt) of these diodes are either 50uA, 5mA, or 20mA. I have two questions:

1) What exactly is zener test current?

2) What's the significance of this and how would it affect an electronic circuit?

5V1 Zener

Most zener diodes 400mW rating, work properly at the rated zenervoltage at a 5 to 10 mA current flow through the zener.

Say you have a 12 volts supply, have the series resistor to allowe a 10 mA currentflow through the zener.

For a 5.1 volt zener 6.9 volts has to be dissipated in a resistor.
From U=I*R 6.9=0.01*R therefore R = 690 ohms.

A 680 ohms E12 ¼ Watt resistor will suffice.

You can use the zener voltage, as a fixed reference voltage, which will remain reasonably stable with power supply voltages ranging from about 8 to 18 Volts in the 12 volts example.

Bear in mind not to exceed the zener power rating and try to keep the zener current within 5 - 15 mA range.

MbTaNk16 said:
1) What exactly is zener test current?
2) What's the significance of this and how would it affect an electronic circuit?

The voltage across a zener diode is not constant but depends on the current flowing in the diode.