Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Yet More Oscilloscope Questions

Status
Not open for further replies.

bobheck

Newbie here. 10000 pardons, forgive me and all that. I really don't know much about scopes, but I really want to learn. So I bought one I (thought) I could afford for around $100.

I have been reading the forum and I am astounded at the amount and depth of knowledge in here.

If I could take a few minutes of your time, please.

Just purchased a Hameg HM705 scope off of ebay. Seemed to work fine, clean lines, in good cosmetic shape. But I needed new probes.

The scope has a .2v/cm square calibration pad on it.

However, after finally getting a pair of probes, i noticed two things that bother me.

1. Trace 1, seems to show higher voltage than it should. This is even with the calibration (small knob on top of volts/cm knob) all the way counter clockwise. Same with 1x 10x 100x probes, consistent. I also tried with regulated DC voltage, same issue.

For this problem I assume something inside has to be replaced or adjusted. What do I look for? ( I know, loaded question). Is this something I can fix? I do know how to solder, desolder, etc...

2. Trace 2, seems to be OK with voltage shown. However, any small touch on the BNC connector makes image go haywire and even off screen. Seems to me something in or around the BNC connection needs resoldering. Does this sound familiar to anyone who can give me advice?