Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Xenon flash circuit

Status
Not open for further replies.

maxgreen

Hi everyone,

I am currently trying to build a xenon flash circuit with a voltage input of 6v or 12v, that I can connect to my optical slave flash unit.
The xenon flash circuit should not be a too complex circuit since I am new at this, but I of course know all the basics.
I also want to be able to fit the circuit into a plastic cover, just like a normal external camera flash, and therefore the unit should be as small as possible.
Does anyone know where I can find schematics on such a unit or maybe give me guidelines on how to start building the unit.

I found the following circuit **broken link removed**, that seems to be very simple, but I am not able to find the inverter transformer anywhere besides their website, and this company has closed until late december. So is possible to build a similar circuit, just with another transformer that is possible to buy elsewhere?

Thanks in advance.

The little transformer is by far the hardest part to find, as it is usually custom made by the manufacturer of flash equipment - there are no real 'standard' off-the-shelve parts, unless you are willing to try and roll your own :)

Funnily enough I was going to recommend an ebay shop, but its the ebay store for that very company! so its also closed until late December..