Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

writing to EPROM - n00b :)

Status
Not open for further replies.

bulldog5046

hello,

better introduce myself. My name is Ryan and i live in Bristol, England.

i'm looking to gather some information on a subject i know very little about. i am trying to write a map for my car onto an EPROM chip (well want to try) and i need some help with the software/hardware and chip that i would require to do this.

relax i'm not a complete nonse i am an IT tech :)

here is a link to the advert for the program:

https://www.fiatforum.com/classifieds/showproduct.php?product=5072&cat=20

the guy has been trying to tell me this program has a locked checksum so can only be written once, now correct me if i wrong but thats not possable? but okay if it is then writing it to a CD and transfering to the chip from there would eliminate this?

can i just purchase a simple PIC controller and a chip to do this or would i require somthing more complex?

Thank You!
Ryan Edge

First things first...

Find out exactly which plcc chip that's in there...because even if you have the hex code you will still need to physically program it...

I doubt that it's an eprom though, much more likely to be a prom, or even a small micro, but will most likely be a burn once only chip. However, it may be replaceable with an nvram, eprom or flash micro part etc.