Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

wireless energy transfer

Status
Not open for further replies.

towndrowmatt

Need a bit of help here( i'm a mech engineer so i'm right out of my depth please be gentle).
Need to find a way of turning on a LED through about 6mm of glass. was originally going to use a reed switch but that will conflict with other functions.
was thinking along the lines of some sort of induction/ transponder sort of thing. LED can have an active supply. Button cell battery would be ideal to keep size of component down.
Any ideas would be really wecome.
regards

I would probably first choose an LDR, photodiode, or phototransistor on the receiving side and an LED on the sending side. Or is the glass not transparent? You would probably have to modulate the light to keep ambient light from interfering.

Is that idea something which might work in your situation?

[Edit: Oh...by the way, a button cell puts out 1.5V when fully charged, so depending on what kind of LED you're lighting up you might want or need to use something like the Joule Thief to run the LED. The schematics for it are on the site I linked; you don't need to buy the kit. It does take up a bit of space, though not much.]

Torben

Last edited:
towndrowmatt said:
LED can have an active supply. Button cell battery would be ideal to keep size of component down.regards