Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Wind Generator - Star Delta Controller

Status
Not open for further replies.

simoin

I am looking for a star/delta controller, I am happy to put a kit together but designing it is beyond my current skill level, but I am still learning.

I have found this circuit diagram ( http://www.dsgnspec.com/StarDelta.html ) and know one or two people that can give me a hand with putting everything together, but just want to make sure it is an appropriate sort for a fisher and paykel wind gen ( http://www.thebackshed.com/windmill/FPRewire.asp )

I have the stator all wired up as per the second link advises for star delta, I just need help setting up some sort of switching board. Anyone done something similar or at worst know where i can buy something like this/willing to sell me....

One question, why?

Aren't there more effective ways to regulate the voltage like altering the field current?

I'd have to search the forum but there's a standard IC used in most auatomotive alternators that you might be able to use for this application.

so what are you looking for? a voltage regulator, charge controller?
Can you please give more information.

sorry should have said that too really.

The basics: This is a wind generator.

Delta will produce more power at high revs.
Star will start making power at lower rev's.