Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Why dont Operational Amplifier, Amplify the signal in Peak detectors and Clippers etc

Status
Not open for further replies.

waqasai

Hello,
I am kinda new to Op-Amps, but i was reading its basic applications and i cam across peak detectors and clippers. It made me thinking that Op-Amps are basically amplifiers so why dont it amplify the signal in these situations?

The output pin of an opamp cannot output a voltage more positive than the opamp's Vdd pin; nor more negative than its Vee (Gnd) pin (true for Rail-to-Rail Opamps, not true for some older designs, like a 741). Also, the ability of an opamp to source/sink current at its output pin is quite small, typically +-25mA or less.

If you put negative feedback around an opamp, then the "gain" is 99.9999% determined by the gain setting resistors. In a simple inverting amplifier, the Gain is -Rf/Ri, so changing either resistor will effect the gain. In a simple non-inverting amplifier, the gain is 1+Rf/Ri.

yeah you are right about that, but the thing that i am confused about is that which this much gain it should amplify the signal. i also read about unity gain Op-Amp, that things make sense that if the closed loop gain gain is 1 then input signal will be equal to output. but still i am confused that how can it be true for peak detector and clippers!!

It will amplify the signal up to the SUPPLIED POWER for the opamp, not the signal.