Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Which Pin only used to program the PIC

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ragens

hi,

im kinda new in this field, i want to know which pin are used to program the PIC... there is several different number of pin but it still got same pin name example like TX/RX... i want to know which pin only is use when we want program the PIC... in my college they got only maximum 40 pin slot for program/transmitting data to PIC... so i could compare via datasheet and use jumper to the pin that used only to program the PIC...

sorry i not good in english...

Check the datasheet for the particular PIC you will be using. It will show the pinout.

Check the datasheet for the particular PIC you will be using. It will show the pinout.

i cant find it... i dun even know a thing about PIC... i check already at PIC newcomers guide... still dun get a thing... which pin is needed only when we want to program the PIC... i mean we dun have to connect all 40 pin in the 40 pin socket right if need to program right? if i use 48 pin or bigger, i dun have the socket... so i just want to use jumper for the pin that used...

Please use full English words and not "txt speak", those are the forum rules. :)

To program a PIC requires 3 pins;
PGC (program clock)
PGD (program data)
Vpp (prog voltage, MCLR pin)

and the PIC also needs the Vdd (ie +5v) and GND connected so it has power!

The PIC pinout in the datasheet will have those 5 pins clearly labelled.