Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Which PIC do I use?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Magen

hello everyone,
I'm still new to PICs but would like to learn on one that has more features than the 16f84 / 16f628. I am able to write basic pgms on them but now want to learn on one that has A to D , PWM , Uart etc. Can anybody please recommend a good one to start with?

regards
Magen

It depends on what BASIC compiler you will be using. A good one is the Swordfish Basic compiler. It only works on the 18F chips which are much like the 16F chips but better. A good chip to start with is the PIC18F1320,

I like the Junebug programmer tutor/target combo board. Follow the link in my signature.

I'll second the Junebug and Swordfish.

You don't actually state which language you are comfortable with, if it's C then Microchip supply a free compiler (C18), if it's Basic then Swordfish wins hands down.

Mike.

Last edited:
Can I third my own kit? :)
Junebug was designed as a quick start to PIC learning, although it uses an advanced 18F1320 as the tutor you should be able to start programming almost as soon as you assemble the kit and install the software. The 18F1320 is very modern compared to the 16F84A or 16F628A (it can program those too)

hi guys,
Sorry, I should have mentioned that I am using MPLAB and writing pgms with assembly code. I have limited experience with C++ but would like to learn more as I've heard this makes writing pgms a lot easier. What are the biggest benefits?