Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Which chip? New to this stuff

Status
Not open for further replies.

Thorpydo

Hey

I'm pretty new with this stuff. Ive been using the basic stamp for a project of mine. I'd like to work with a pic..

I need a very few amount of pins, 6 would be fine. I believe that I also need EEPROM (Is that 'RAM' on microchips site?). Is there anything else to base my decision of what chip I get on? Will I need a crystal, or is there one built into the chip?

Im going to be programming it in basic, what are some available compilers?

Anything else that may help me out?

THANKS!

I started with 28 pin DIP pkg PIC18F252 & 40 pin PIC18F452, Warp13 programmer, and CadSoftUSA's HiTech C compiler. Never used BASIC. The 18F's fast, lots of memory, quite powerful. It uses a larger instruction set oriented towards compilers.

The "Words" is nonvolatile program memory on Microchip's selection guide. Once the code is programmed, it will stay safe until reprogrammed. "Bytes" is volatile RAM space available to the program- unlike some architectures, instruction code space and RAM is not interchangeable. Yes, it is quite possible to run out of RAM space. "EEPROM" is nonvolative memory that the code can write/read from which will remain stored through resets and loss of power. It's slow and you don't use it unless you need the nonvolatile capabilities.