Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

where i can get spice

Status
Not open for further replies.

zavedur rahman

hello brothers & sisters, i'm new here, im a enrolling undergrad student of electronics. can somebody tell me where i can find a free spice simulator for linux. i really need one.

Linear Technology's SwitcherCAD III will run in Linux under Wine. It's a great program, especially considering that it's free. There is also a fine support group in Yahoo.

BTW, TI's freebie spice version has made alot of progress as of recent. They used to cripple it. Looks MUCH better now. It has the potential to give LTSPICE a run for its money (er..um no money..) I dont know if it runs under linux.

Optikon said:
BTW, TI's freebie spice version has made alot of progress as of recent. They used to cripple it. Looks MUCH better now. It has the potential to give LTSPICE a run for its money (er..um no money..) I dont know if it runs under linux.
Do you mean TINA by TI? I found it is not very user friendly.
How about ORCAD PSPICE? My university recommends this.

bananasiong said:

TINA is user friendly IMO.

Orcad PSPICE is low on my list of good spice tools.

bananasiong said:
Orcad Pspice is a major pain in the ***. It's all I have at work, so it's what I use, but it is SERIOUSLY non-friendly at times. I'm looking into Multisim from NI as a replacement.

@ the OP, I would also suggest SwitcherCAD III from Linear Technologies. It looks very capable and people seem to like it.

Optikon said: