Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

When would I use a solder pucker over a solder braid?

Status
Not open for further replies.

alphaai

Hello,

I wasnt too sure when I would use solder pucker over a solder braid.
They do the same job right? Removing solder.
Im a newbie so still learning.
Thanks,

Ben

I think you mean a solder sucker (trying to envision what a solder pucker would look like)...

I've found it handy to have both on hand - sometimes, you try the braid, and it just isn't working - so you try the sucker and it does (and vice-versa). There's also the fact that solder braid transfers heat very well, leading to hot fingertips. Another issue might be static electricity or other conductivity issues (the solder braid is conductive, whereas the solder sucker probably isn't). In my opinion, you should always have both on hand.

With a sucker you may need to add solder to the solder you want to remove. The new solder supplies flux that allows the old to move easier.

My solder sucker died a while back and since then I have been using newtons first law of motion to remove solder from holes.

Also use braid sometimes with liquid flux.

Seems like the theme here is that flux is just a useful for desoldering as soldering.

Last edited: