Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

What's the simplest audio line-level signal sensor (on/off) - relay/transistor/triac?

Status
Not open for further replies.

flx

Hello, everyone.
This question is so simple that it may sound complicated to all you knowledgeable folks here; please consider it's coming from a total newbie. :)

What is available:
- A vibration motor, runs at anything between 1.5V DC and 4.5V DC, < 100 mA
- An audio source, line-level (actually headphone level @ low volume)
- A power source providing minimum 3 Volts (a 3.7V battery pack)

What is to be accomplished:
- Spin the motor when there's any audio coming in (above noise level)

Basically, this "project" needs to close the circuit between the battery and the vibrator, and keep it closed for as long as there's audio at the input. Think of this as replacement of a speaker/buzzer with a vibrator: instead of hearing a beep, feel a vibration. Please imagine something as simple as possible... could it be a transistor / diode / relay / triac or any combination thereof? What values? (sorry if my suggestions seem silly :) - remember my noobness)

Many, many thanks in advance!
**broken link removed**

A precision rectifier, peak detector, and a comparator. Two IC's and a handfull of discrete components.