Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

What type of relay do I need?

Status
Not open for further replies.

cstradling24

I am currently a student at ITT Technical Institute and I am building a lab for my final project this quarter. I have a traffic light and I have made a DC (9V) counter circuit. Everything there works fine. I originally made the circuit with simple LEDs so I could see it work. The traffic light I have is a 120V AC power supply. Now here comes the problem.

I need to light three lights in the traffic light (R, Y, G) which are 120V, 25W AC. My counter is a DC circuit which has three LEDS substituting the traffic light right now. What is the easiest way I could power the AC traffic light using my DC counter circuit? I figured I would need some simple relays but I cant seem to find a relay that seems like it would work. As you can imagine the current in my DC counter circuit is quite low. Any ideas of an easier way or what specific type of relay I need?

Thank you in advanced!

That's not a lot of power to switch, a 1 amp 120 volt relay will work fine, pick a transistor that will saturate at whatever current your counter is able to produce and use the transistor to drive the relay coil, you could also use a logic level Mosfet instead which won't require any current from the counter circuit itself at all. Since the current is pretty low solid state relays are an option too. How much current is your counter circuit able to source?