Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

What to scavenge from old computer motherboard?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dan1400

Hey guys and gals!

I got two old motherboards from junkyard near my home and i was
wondering what components can i desolder and re-use in some of my
projects, i am new at building electronic circuits and stuff.
So far i am pretty sure i will be taking some capacitors, piezo speakers
and maybe some diodes, do you have any tips on what IC`s, transistors
and similar more complex components that can be found
on old motherboards can be practically re-used?
Thanks in advance for any helpful tips and will be glad to provide any additional info!

You pretty much called it. Maybe a few inductors tossed in. There are also the connectors if you ever have future use for them. I just maintain a bone yard box with some motherboards plus a few old chassis. When I need something I look on the boards I have. I don't have the time or patience to strip the boards and file by pile with the parts. :)

Ron

You pretty much called it. Maybe a few inductors tossed in. There are also the connectors if you ever have future use for them. I just maintain a bone yard box with some motherboards plus a few old chassis. When I need something I look on the boards I have. I don't have the time or patience to strip the boards and file by pile with the parts. :)

Ron