Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

What kind of DC is this?

Status
Not open for further replies.

stefan

I am a total beginner at electronics and I am cutting my teeth on attempting to hack in to an RC transmitter and replace two pots with a low pass filter on a PWM signal.

I got the PWM signal smoothed out with an RC filter, however after hooking up the transmitter to a scope I'm seeing a square DC line.

When both channels of the scope are calibrated the same my PWM>DC signal looks perfect at 1V, but the top of the the transmitter's wave reads about 7.5V when the volt meter reads 1V.

I'm assuming something on the TX board is causing this to pulse somehow but I'm not sure how to replicate it.

Any direction is appreciated!

Attachments

• 2011-01-18_16-45-12_703.jpg
    2011-01-18_16-45-12_703.jpg
    2.1 MB · Views: 157
Where is the schematic of the circuit you chopped up and the filter you added?
We don't know where on the circuit you connected the 'scope and we don't know the settings of the 'scope.

Last edited:
The original circuit board I want to interface with is intact and un-altered. My PWM circuit is not connected to the transmitter at this time.

In that picture I connected the scope to the high side of the potentiometer. If I connect it to the middle signal pole I can adjust that pulse from max (as shown) down to 0.

The scope is set on .5ms Time/Div and 2 Volts/Div.

The circuit I've built is coming from 3.3V Netduino running at 10khz. I've attached a diagram.