Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

what is the ratio of water and ferrite chloride !

Status
Not open for further replies.

yusuf

friends I am new in this electronic field ..
and i am going to make my first pcb..

I have ferrite chloride in powder form I dont have in liquid form...
and I have 6*4" inch copper clad..

but I dont know what is the ratio or how much teaspoon of ferrite chloride i should use...
Or how much water i should use for etching...

friends help please !

The MSDS for ferric chloride etchant from MG Chemicals says 40% (https://www.electro-tech-online.com/custompdfs/2012/01/415-liquid.pdf), which means 40 grams of ferric chloride per 100 mL of solution. NB: That does not mean 100 mL of water and it is based on anhydrous ferric chloride. If you have the hexahydrate, the numbers need to be adjusted to account for the water contained in the solid.

40% is the common industrial concentration used for shipping solutions and in water treatment plants.

If you give more details of the form of ferric chloride you have, I can help with the calculations.

John

Last edited:
I have anhydrous ferric chloride.(IN POWDER FORM) and how much time it will take for complete etching.

Etching time is variable with these factors

• Temperature
  • How strong the etchant is, the more you use it the weaker it gets
  • Mechanical action or lack of it, spray, bubble, slosh, or sponge
  • Thickness of the copper, 1/2oz, 1oz, 2oz etc

Last edited: