Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

what is the difference between different microcontrollers?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi all,

can any one tell me the difference between different microcontrollers (89c51/52, AVR, PIC, ARM/LPC) and their advantages and disadvantages one over the other? for what specific applications a microcontroller is preferred over the others?
i am asking as i am new to professional field and dont have lot of experience.

Regards

That is a lot of information to ask for. To answer it on would need to cover the processor architecture, peripherals, and historical information.

I have found the tool chains (IDE, compiler, simulator and programmers) to be as much of a factor as the processor chip.

Can you ask a few less more specif questions ?

more specifically is..............

can every project be designed using only one microcontroller? like i am currently working on 89c51 ,,, so is it enough for all microcontroller based projects?

what things should i consider before choosing a microcontroller for a project?

The main things I would consider when choosing a microcontroller:

Peripherals - Do you need a PWM, A/D converter, and SPI? Perhaps USB, PMP and USART? Then make sure your microcontroller has it.
Memory - Do you need a 192KB frame buffer for an LCD? Then don't choose a micro with 2KB RAM.
Speed - Do you want to perform thousands of floating point calculations per second? Then choose a fast micro.