Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

what is the best 'noob' microcontroller?

Status
Not open for further replies.

JPulham

I'm new to electronics and have been looking into microcontrolers/microprocessors recently. I would like to know what microprocessor is best to start with. I have seen the z80 when searching the internet and it looks a comptant processor but I is it easy to learn? What would you recommend? also, I would like to make my own serial cable/software to upload the program(s). Which would support this the best?
Many thanks in advanced, JPulham

Thanks, I'll have a look through you tutorials. Also, I have a friend who does electronics, I'll talk to him when he gets back from poland in 6 weeks :rolleyes:.
but I'll definatly look into PIC, thanks again.

The Basic Stamp is a good MCU for complete noobs. The documentation is excellent and the language is simple. Depending on your knowledge of programming, you may outgrow the Basic Stamp quickly though.

PICs and AVRs are very popular MCUs for hobby electronics. You can get a variety of sizes and capabilities and they are fairly cheap, if you plan to use a compiler.

What languages are you considering? There are BASIC compilers available for both PICs and AVRs. Personally, I use Bascom with AVR microcontrollers. There's a demo version that supports up to 4k compiled programs, which is a decent size program. It's at https://www.mcselec.com.