Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

what is ground?

Status
Not open for further replies.

xjackal

i am new to electronics but when i see a ground connection i think of the circuits that we draw.they had only sources in lessons so what is ground for practical circuits.or did we omit that in theories? :roll:
so please tell me the ground funciton and vcc funciton in circuits.also what is the wire that is on the riht side of the ground in foppy drive supply?my friend said it is calibbration?!

Ground is something you should have learned in high school, basic wiring, basically grounding a circuit provides protection to the user/circuit in case of a power spike, it is usually attatched to a metal part of the circuit like in light switches the case is the ground meaning that if there is too much power going to the circuit it'll just discharge over the case instead of blowing up the light bulb.

Or like a lightning rod, they're mounted on top of a house and travel to the ground, so that if lightning strikes the house, it will most likely strike the lightning rod, and travel down the wiring into the ground.

Also, in some schematics, ground can also mean negative, depends on the circuit, if there's no negative in the schematic, it's best to suspect that ground is the negative, it's pretty much guestimation when it comes to other peoples circuits.