Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

WHat ever happened to portable stereos/boomboxes?

Status
Not open for further replies.

dknguyen

Most Helpful Member
Seriously? HOw come I can't find any decent PC-compatible portable stereos or boomboxes? I've been using a Phillips az2558 as my speakers for the last 2 or 3 years and my computer room changes so now I can't fit it on the table anywhere. So on the ground, plenty of bass but the treble couldn't do it. SO I decided to get a speaker setup I could fit onto my desk and got a Logitech 5.1 set.

It was SOO BAD compared to the stereo...EVEN when the stereo was on the ground. THe stereo on the ground had more treble clarity than the speakers did when they were on the desk! And the subwoofer was very strong but totally unbalanced to the rest of sound (unlike the Woox sub on the stereo). THey also needed to be turned up loud enough for the "surround sound" part to kick in to sound decent at all. THat's dumb! THe stereo sounds just fine at low volumes. WHy do I have to flood the room with music and bass for it to sound decent? The stereo sounds just fine when it's sitting completely on the right of me. THe speakers had to be all around and cranked up with the bass booming to get even the same thing...and the boom box could STILL play louder than all of them and still somehow managed to have just enough bass- something I could never get right with the speaker bass adjustment.