Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

What can be wrong with this board?

Status
Not open for further replies.

chris99

Hi,

I'm an amateur toy-fixer by necessity, since my two little kids don't seem to be able to hold things still in their hands for more than a few seconds. Their last victim is a LeapReader, an electronic pen used to add audio interactivity to some special books. It was working fine when suddenly it started behaving strangely, in what seems to be like a slow-motion operation. Basically everything works, but it takes about 3 times more time, with lights flashing slowly and audio slowed down to devilish sounds. After putting it in re-charge for a couple of hours, resetting and repairing it via its companion software without success, I decided to open it and I couldn't find any signs of trouble.

What I found out though is that by holding the pen in a particular position (flat, face down), it works perfectly fine. As soon as I move it by about 20 degrees in any direction it goes back to slow mode. I disassembled everything and there aren't any moving parts left that could cause this. I tried to push and pull pretty much every component and contact point without being able to replicate the effect. It seems like gravity is the only force in action, but I can't identify where exactly lies the problem.

What can I do?