Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

What amp rating do I need?

Status
Not open for further replies.

jtbsc

Newbie here, hoping you can answer my question.

I've got a small fluorescent light box that currently does not have an on/off switch. I'd like to add one. I've had to replace the power cord so the wires are fairly accessible.

I know I need a 125V DPST switch, or I think I can use a DPDT if I have to, but what amp rating do I need?

The lightbox has a sticker that reads "For line volt amps, multiply total lamp wattage by 2.5." There are two 9W bulbs in the lamp, so that makes the line volt amps 45.

But if I do W=VxA, then I get less than one.

As you can tell, my knowledge of electronics is enough to get me in trouble. Do I need a 45 Amp switch, and if so, am I ever going to find one? Or do I need a low-amperage switch that's likely available at Lowes or RadioShack?

Thanks in advance,

John

Reactions: 3v0
It would only draw 0.410 Amp if it is 45 watts ( 9W x 2 x 2.5) and running on 110Vac. (45W/110V) A 1Amp 125V switch should be fine.

Last edited: