Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

What am i missing out on?

Status
Not open for further replies.

chris414

I'm in my first year of electrical engineering and do a few of my own little projects in my spare time as a hobby (just so you know where im at with electronics). Because im on a budget, about a year ago i converted a computer ATX power supply into an adjustable voltage power supply following an article on the internet, and i've had no problems with it.

However, I'm finding the one output line limiting so was thinking about rebuilding it - add another line, add some simple current limiting (only know the theory behind this, does it work as well in practise?), some digital meters, etc. What am I missing out on by not buying a commercial power supply (my price bracket would only allow a relatively cheap power supply)? I cant notice any ripple on my current power supply, i'm getting up to 3amps out of my current power supply, the voltage only goes to 22V so admittedly a bit low there, but other than that what features would be worth spending my money on?