Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

welder trouble

Status
Not open for further replies.

tonggy

hi, I have a flux core 80watt none gas. I'm new at this field, I'm trying to figure
out why my welder is not giving out any spark at all. I tested the ground wire and the wire is fine, and wire feeder is also working fine. what parts do I need to fix this problem that I'm having with my welder, thanks. ;)

Last edited:
What make and model is the welder?

How do you have it set up?

Is there voltage where the cable connects to the welder body?

Torben

Here is a schematic for what was described as a MIG welder.
It may be that there is some similarity to a FCAW .... flux core arc welder:
https://www.electro-tech-online.com/attachments/mig-pdf.25650/

..... Maybe take a look at the varister ...... VR1 component .... see if you have something similar ....and it is not shorted out.
..... Actually the problem could be several things ..... transformer winding, diodes ...

Do any of the components look burned or damaged?

Last edited:
the name is Campbell Hausfeld and the model WF2000 its set up 115v on 20A,I don't know what else do you mean how its set up. oh there's a little spark like a very small spark not enough to weld and then it goes away