Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Wanting to learn more about electronics

Status
Not open for further replies.

thejuggla1

Hi, I'm a year one electrical apprentice, about 6 months of school and 4 months and counting in the field. I've taken a few electronics courses back in high school as well spent 2-3 weeks on electronics during my schooling(although I didn't really learn anything I didn't already know), but I want to learn more about the electronics side of things. I'm not sure really where to start?, I know what basic things do like transistors, capacitors, resistors ect. The most advanced thing I've made would probably be a 4-way traffic light using a 555 and 4017, although I didn't design it myself, only tweaked it a bit. I understand how the 4017 works but the 555 is still a bit confusing to me it seems it can be setup multiple ways to do multiple things. I understand in this case the 555 was "telling" the 4017 how long till it jumps to the next prong in the sequence which was controlled by the ohms on the resistor in the 555 part of the circuit.

I was just recently looking up making a circuit board using a Laser jet printer then putting it in the solution to take off the copper. Same way as I learned in school, just I can't recall the program you would use to make the design?

Somethings I'd be interested in making would be
For audio cars guitars or even home: A row of LEDs that light up depending on how much of a signal is being sent to the amp